• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Eric0321

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Jun 9, 2010
    Brownsburg
    I pulled the trigger on an FAL Imbel Parts Kit. A good deal according to falfiles.com where I found it. I'm pretty new to the FAL. I just acquired my first one, a de-sporterized Springfield SAR-4800, last week from another ingoer.

Here are the kits:
    Imbel Parts Kit

I got the Very Good Condition package with no options.

I figure it will be a good project for me. Now I will just have to get a receiver (maybe another month or two due to $), and a headspace shoulder (admittedly I'm not sure what that part is).

Another ingoer recommended this for another piece I need to refinish: John Norrell Arms so I can use it to refinish this FAL if needed.

Last edited:

rob63

Master
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    May 9, 2013
    Good luck. I have been tempted, but everyone always says that you end up spending too much in specialized tooling to justify it. I would be interested in updates to how your project goes.

Eric0321

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Jun 9, 2010
    Brownsburg
    I've heard similar. If this ends up being my only build I'll probably pay someone with the tools. I've been told that you can get the tools for around $200. I may enjoy it so much that I hunt the tools down.

This is mainly a project I want to do with my dad for fun. I'm anticipating cleaning off the cosmoline, sandblasting the metal parts, refinishing, purchasing a receiver and headspace shoulder, then assembling (most likely pay someone with tools for that)

I've never sandblasted or refinished anything so it should be interesting. I'll post images of the progress as it goes along.

BogWalker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Jan 5, 2013
    Always wanted an FAL so bad but I always either don't have enough money or can't find a rifle or parts kit when I do.

hrearden

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%