• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • doglb

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    50   0   1
    Jul 13, 2009
    Ft. Wayne, IN
    Ok I have never had a NFA weapon and I am a total NOOB when it comes to this so please be patient and understanding! :D

Before you bash me on the conversions, as of now I am just toying with the idea and had some questions maybe some of you could answer (even though they might come across dumb)

I know to convert the pistol to a SBR I need to complete the Form 1, watched the video Full-Auto did, (Thanks by the way, very informative)

So here are the questions:
    1. Since this is a conversion that can be easily swapped from pistol to SBR are there any issues swapping back and forth?

2. I know it has to be engraved being a SBR, but with a conversion what would you engrave? Would it be the pistol or the conversion kit?

3. On the Form 1 it asks OAL of the SBR, since I do not have the kit I have no way of knowing the OAL, could I make an educated guess on the OAL?

4. Can the kit be purchased prior to getting approval, or is that a big mistake?

5. Once approved, I am assuming that I can add a vert. grip onto the SBR without any added paperwork, right?

6. Since this is a conversion, would I only be able to use the original pistol (stated on Form 1) for the SBR? Meaning if I own a couple Glock 19's, the pistols would not be interchangeable with the conversion?

7. I understand that I need to copies of everything submitted to the ATF, do I need to have the Chief of Police sign 2 of the forms? (Original signatures)

Here is the converions I am thinking about Hera Arms
    The 1st one is there first model where slight modification is needed (rear sight replacement, one of the frame pins)

The 2nd is there Triarii (newer model, no mods needed)
    It actually ships without a stock, so legally I should be ok with this conversion before the tax stamp-once approved a stock could be added making it a SBR

SBR'ed