• ...and so much more!
  • Biscuit

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 19, 2013
    La Porte
    MA hallo,
    I have a Lee Loadmaster and managed to fix the auto primmer took a little doing so I am mechanically inclined.

That being said I am reaching out to any one who has one. I am using the bullet seat with out crimp and a separate factory crimp die. I am having a issue with the over all length of the round.
    I am loading 40 S/W and it calls for 1.125 and I am getting from 1.11 to 1.136.

I am thinking I will have to use the bullet seat and crimp ( all in one die) and then do a second crimp with my factory crimp die.

any impute would be great.

Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Nov 23, 2008
    Mishawaka
    You haven't mentioned the bullet type (profile).

A couple things to look for. Look inside the seating die and make sure it's absolutely clean inside. Any gunk in there could vary your seating depth.

Depending on the die your using the seater plug inside the seating die could have two profiles for your bullet type. One end of the plug will be for a round nose and with the plug flipped over it would be for a flat nose type bullet. You would have to unscrew the adjuster and remove the plug to find out.

Make sure your not short stroking the press. Every stroke must be a complete follow through.

Sometimes there will always be a slight variance of OAL because measuring from the tip to tail of the bullet will vary depending on the quality of the bullets. I measure with a ogive tool so the measurements are consistent. Although the differences your seeing is too large for this to be the case.

In any case I would not recommend you crimp twice.

gds

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 25, 2009
    Lawrencburg
    Check your bullets to make sure that they are all the same length. Are you short stroking your lever ? Do not over crimp, the bullet will lengthen .

Seancass

Master
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Oct 12, 2008