• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jworm1420

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    42   0   0
    Feb 25, 2012
    getting ready to go purchase my first AR.... had a few questions..... AR caliber .223 I've heard also shoots 5.56????? but I've seen5.56x9mm and by45mm..... also in theory, u can buy a fully assembled upper and fully assembled lower, put together and shoot??????? Any other things i should look for or any pointers would b appreciated .. Thanx everybody!!!!!!!!!!

Stschil

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 24, 2010
    At the edge of sanit
    I'm no AR expert, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

You should be able to mate any complete upper to a complete lower without issues.

The .223/5.56 question. 5.56 is a NATO round and carries higher pressures than the civilian .223. Most AR's these days are chambered for the 5.56 , check the stampings, and shooting .223 will cause you no problems whatsoever.
    The opposite is not true. If the barrel is chambered for .223 only, the higher pressured 5.56 NATO can eventually cause catastrophic failure. This can occur with the first round or the 400th. So it's not a good idea.

Also, use the search feature here and look up some of the many AR threads. There is loads of good info there.
    I'm sure there will be others along, much more knowledgable than I, who can give more specifics.

Hope this helps

JohnP82

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Apr 2, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    Like Stschil already stated .223 is good to go in a 5.56 barrel but it is not recommended to shoot 5.56 through a .223 barrel.

Yes most complete uppers should function with most any complete lower. Sometimes you will run into some minor issues that can be worked out.
    As long as the complete upper comes with a BCG then yes it is ready to go. Some places say complete upper, but they do not have the BCG.