• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • biggjimm

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 2, 2012
    Grant Co.
    Hey all. I've been a member for a while but usually just read thru & try to learn a few things.
    I've been reloading for a couple years now & have a couple loads developed that work real nice in one of my Encore 357 max barrels. The other one, a 20" SS custom shop mag barrel that has been re-chambered to a max, won't shoot a group for nothing. I want to load some bullets long to get closer to the rifling & need a powder that doesn't require a heavy crimp since I won't be in the crimp groove. I've got some IMR 4227 but don't know if it requires a firm crimp or not.
    Any ideas on this or any other powder for this particular application?
    Also, I've got a standard RCBS roll crimp seater die, a RCBS taper crimp seater die & a Lee factory crimp die for loading the max.
    Thanks. Jim.

jsn_mooney

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    47   0   0
    Nov 3, 2008
    South Of Richmond
    I've had the best luck with AA1680 for both 158GR XTP FPs & 180GR SSP Bullets. If you are looking for a long bullet, those SSP bullets should get you alot closer to the lands than an XTP.

biggjimm

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 2, 2012
    Grant Co.
    jsn_mooney, actually, if you compare an xtp & ssp side by side, you'll see that the bearing surface of the xtp will hit the rifling much sooner than the ssp bullet. The xtp has much more bearing surface.

For one thing I can not find any 180 ssp but have a large supply of xtp on hand.

Parson, I'm very familiar with David's site & exceptional work he does but haven't found what I'm looking for there either. And what I'm looking for is a powder to use in this max case that doesn't have to be crimped hard like the H-110 & W296 that I've been loading with.