• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • unforgiven1203

Marksman
    Jun 8, 2008
    Dayton OH
    I've owned my savage 110 tactical (chambered in .308) since about '95 . It has proven itself to be capable of incredible accuracy but has been almost exclusivly a bench/bipod gun (due to its heft).it has recently lost 5.5 pounds by removing the rediculous "ultimate sniper" stock. It is still a heavy rifle with a very fat bbl but with the factory (bare bones) stock it is manageable.
    slung up on concrete (atterbury) with my only shooting jacket for padding I got settled in prone and set my scope on 6x.when I started shooting I realized what a contortion act "working the bolt"really is,and maybe there is a good reason that m1a's cost so much!
    shooting groups of 5 I was pretty consistant at a about 2 1/2 moa, which I was fairly satisfied with , but I feel I can drop these groups with some practice
    I did verify (with a bipod) that the gun and load were still capable of sub moa accuracy, which I'm also happy with since these were my first "rifle" reloads (and I got the components for free! Thanks Dad!).:ar15:

NEOCON

Sharpshooter
    Mar 21, 2008
    Warrick county
    We had a guy this weekend KYboltman shoot a Rifleman score with a bolt gun on sunday. This guy was the most receptive to instruction that I have ever worked with so far. He was offered a semi several times but said he wanted to do what he could with what he brought. Some of the timed stages at the end of the day he was waiting on the semis to finish shooting he was that fast at mag changes and working the bolt. I was impressed and told him so several times.

Clay

Grandmaster
    Aug 28, 2008
    Vigo Co