• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • semperfi211

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 17, 2008
    Near Lowell
    Our HP PC crashed the other day. We replaced it with an Apple Mac Mini. I have heard some say that Macs don't get viruses. Is this true? And if so, why not?

mrjarrell

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 18, 2009
    Hamilton County
    I've been using Macs of all types for over 20 years, now and have never installed antivirus software. All it does is mess with your machine. Yes, there is a minute amount of Mac affecting malware out there, but you're really unlikely to run across it unless you're downloading lots of pirated and cracked software. There just isn't a "market" for malware and viruses for hackers on the Mac OS platform, as there is with Windows. Same for Linux (around which the Mac OS is built). The Mac OS is just fine without the software. You're chances of being infected are very slim. Unlike Windows.

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    Macs will not be impacted by the vast majority of virii built for Windows. There are a few (comparatively) iOS/MacOS virii in the wild. With tools like AdBLock and the like, and good web surfing and email habits, you can avoid most (if not all) iOS infections.

That said, there are plenty of anti-virus apps available.

david890

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 1, 2014
    Bloomington
    While folks tend to attack PCs more often than Macs (simple matter of numbers), I'd recommend something. Better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it!

Mr Evilwrench

Quantum Mechanic
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 18, 2011
    Carmel