• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Swim404

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 31, 2011
    ATL
    As I've mentioned on a few other posts, I'm brand new to guns and today was my second time shooting. I have now been to two different locations and this second time the place was pretty run down inside.

When I got home I washed my hands, changed clothes, and then blew my nose. I am sorry to be graphic, but it was like grey/black. Is that just "part of it" from shooting guns? Is it because I shot more rounds today (about 40)? ...or is a range ventilation problem?

If you all have any tips on how to prevent this, I would love to hear them. I'm guessing this isn't too healthy :)

Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    Indoor or outdoor range? If it was indoor, I'd say they have a serious ventilation problem. I wouldn't go back.

Swim404

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 31, 2011
    ATL
    It was indoor. The first place I went to is a brand new facility by my house in Atlanta (Indiana is my home state and I really like the INGO community so trust you all's opinion)...the second place I only went to was only because my NRA instructor was offering free lessons.

I'm guessing it was probably ventilation because this place seemed a LOT hole-in-the-wall (putting it nicely) than the first one. However, since this is only my second time shooting, I thought I would ask if this is an every time side effect to get used to...

Scutter01

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 21, 2008
    If you have gunk in your nose, it came from SOMEWHERE. Unless you've got a burst blood vessel and you're loaded with dried blood, then it came from a poorly-ventilated range. I wouldn't want to shoot in a range such as that. Poor ventilation is one reason I rarely use indoor ranges anymore, even in the dead of winter.