recommendations for someone installing a gas line?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MTN

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jan 3, 2014
    Laporte Co.
    I just know about the plastic pipe because that's what I do for a living. I don't do after the meter work. Just everything underground except welding.

BigBoxaJunk

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 9, 2013
    East-ish
    When I was having my house built, I asked the guys setting the gas meter about running a line about 20 feet to a garage for a heater there. One guy told me about having to do it with a certain kind of plastic pipe and a certain kind of union, and said he could do it for $300 if I dug the trench. When that guy went to the truck, the other, older guy said if it was him, he'd get some black iron threaded pipe and use that. He even gave me a couple of rolls of some kind of tape that I used to wrap around the iron pipe to keep it from rusting. Can't remember what it cost me, but not very much, and it's been fine for 16 years now.

church

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    May 10, 2013
    Margaritaville
    1st...Chapmans leads the pack in rip and tear on the customers nickel.

2nd...Is that a total cost as in materials/labor.

3rd...This could be a journeyman/helper job. Labor will be times one and a half.

4th...Is the house brick???....Possibly hard to penetrate the wall.

5th...Is the fire place already set. Will there be issues getting into it.

6th...When you say the main, existing meter or from the main line in the street.