• Status
    Not open for further replies.

jblomenberg16

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    67   0   0
    Mar 13, 2008
    Southern Indiana
    I had been surfing ar15.com a few weeks ago and saw a thread mentioning a major clearance sale at Spec-Ops webstore. So, I decided to head over there to check it out.

I ended up buying one of their OD green M.O.U.T. chest rigs and 2 double pistol mag pouches for a song. The price was litearlly so good I figured it must be some sort of scam, and almost didn't click the "buy" button.

The product can be found here, and is listed at their regular price.

M.O.U.T. Rig, Military Operations on Urban Terrain | M.O. U. T. Gear | SPEC.-OPS Tactical Gear

M-9 Magazine Pouch | Tactical & Magazine Pouches | SPEC.-OPS Tactical Gear

I used this rig for the first time today at the PD Carbine II training course. I'm not a gear expert by any means, and this is only my 3rd chest rig. My two previous set-ups were a full blown tac vest, which, while making me look like a tacticool mall ninja, really didn't meet my needs and was more bulk than function. The second was a Vietnam era LBV that actually works very well, which makes sense since it was military issue for a number of years.

DSC04392.jpg

Pros:
    • Very light weight, and very simple to operate, with just a few straps to connect and size.
    • For its size, it has very good capacity (8 AR Mags, and MOLLE straps on the front for more add ons). That compares well to many other larger rigs, that usually have 4-8 magazine capacity
    • The MOLLE straps on the front mean you can configure it to accept other items. I decided to put the double pistol mag pouches on the two attachment points on my left, so as to leave the right 1/2 of the gear open so my rifle would hang freely when slung.
    Cons:
    • Straps are narrow (1") and do tend to dig in, especially when the gear is loaded to capacity.