• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Shive.Justin

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 16, 2011
    Greenwood/Whiteland
    So I got my first reloading manual for Christmas, the Lyman 49th edition, and was reading it last night and it said to use the powder that was listed for each type of round being reloaded. My question is this: Does it make a difference as to which powder is being used?

Please forgive me for my lack of intelligence, but I'm just getting into the reloading scene and I'm trying to learn a whole lot before I actually start reloading. Thanks in advance.

Broom_jm

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 10, 2009
    That's a pretty common question for someone just getting into reloading. The powders listed are the ones that were found suitable by Lyman for that cartridge/bullet combination. They are listed from fastest to slowest-burning. They will also usually indicate which powder is most likely to be accurate with that combination, based on their observations.

I typically choose a powder from the middle on down, based on what 2 or more manuals recommend. Also, there is a lot information listed in the first few chapters of the manual. As boring as that stuff can be, I do encourage folks to read and understand all of it. If nothing else, it will give you a better understanding of how and why a gun goes, "BANG!" when you pull the trigger. That will go a long way toward keeping you safe.

rockhopper46038

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    89   0   0
    May 4, 2010
    Fishers