• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • shooter1054

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 22, 2011
    South Indianapolis
    I am a self taught shooter, except for some pistol classes I've taken this year. As a hunter, I've learned to shoot my rifles "hunting accurate". I've started trying to shoot a little longer range and more accurate at these ranges. In pistol shooting, we all know the mantra "focus on the front sight". What do you focus on when shooting a rifle with a scope? Do I focus on the reticle or do I focus on the target?

lovemachine

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Dec 14, 2009
    Indiana
    I'm not sure if this answers your question...

But I'm using an Aimpoint red dot. And I was taught you use both eyes, one eye on the dot, the other on the target, at the same time.

Lancem

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    May 21, 2011
    North of Ft Wayne
    Yes, focus the scope by looking through it and then focusing it so the retical is sharp and in perfect focus, then lock the focus ring down. You should be good to go from close to far, unless your scope has a parallax adjustment which you will need to set to the approximate target range to have a clear sight picture.

shooter1054

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 22, 2011
    South Indianapolis
    Yes, focus the scope by looking through it and then focusing it so the retical is sharp and in perfect focus, then lock the focus ring down. You should be good to go from close to far, unless your scope has a parallax adjustment which you will need to set to the approximate target range to have a clear sight picture.

Thank you. I appriciate your information. I will try this at the range this weekend.

rhino

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Indiana