• ...and so much more!
  • jss1956

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 7, 2010
    Indiana the Armpit
    A Newbie here with a 2 part question:

1. I've got a Remington 572 and wanted to get a decent scope for hunting and targets. Would like to stay under a $100. I talked to guys at a couple of gun shows and did some research and was thinking of a Nikon Prostaff 4 x 32. Any suggestions on this selection?

2. My son is getting old enough that he's ready for a 22 that he could keep for years to come. He's not a big fan of the 10/22 and wanted some input on a high quality 22 rifle. He prefers target shooting to hunting but does like taking squirrels when time permits. It's a big tradition in my family to get each generation that first "real 22". Would love to get some input on a good. selection. Thanks.

redneckmedic

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 20, 2009
    Greenfield
    If you are just plinking and not doing any real distance or accuracy I wouldn't put any more $ in one than you would at wal-mart. Might even look at the NC-Star line, they are generally considered junk, however they can look pretty cool and will do fine for a low-end .22lr.

I have a WOTAC on mine, but then again I take it out to 300yrds on a precision set up.

sepe

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 15, 2010
    Accra, Ghana
    I've got a Remington 582 that had a Weaver v22a on it. I can't remember which site I found the link but there are several doing the BSA Sweet 22 for around $45. I didn't want to spend much and I think that one will be fine. At 50 yards with the v22a you couldn't see a hole from a 7.62x39. My dad's 10/22 had the exact same Weaver scope as my 582 and it was fine but we never used it at more than probably 30 yards.

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in