• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dieselman

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Aug 31, 2009
    Bloomington
    looking for a good place to squirrel hunt near bloomington. i assume all the public land is crowded and over hunted... anyone have any good spots they want to share?

Bradsknives

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Mar 1, 2010
    Greenfield, IN.
    There are plenty of smaller tracts of Hoosier National Forest just south of you (with in a hour drive) that don't get hunted at all. I have been hunting down that way for over 25 years and even though I have plenty of private ground, I still hit some of the smaller public tracts to hunt. You need to get a plat book and a topo map......do your home work and scout. Plenty of public land that does not get a lot of hunting pressure.:twocents:

glockednlocked

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 7, 2008
    Oh sorry I meant "curb squirrels" I just jump the curb and catch em on my bumper, any skate boards.bikes etc just go right under and the "squirrel" rolls up on the hood :)

philagothon

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 25, 2010
    On the 7th step
    DNR's "Where to Hunt" map seems to show outlines of private & public land. Anyone know how accurate it is? I found a couple spots that look great on the map. I need to go scout them now, but I don't want to make any property owners mad in the process.
    DNR: Where to Hunt

MarkRW

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 21, 2011
    OK, I've never been squirrel hunting. If you shoot one, how long does it take the other to come back out, or do they not really go in?

In my yard with my pellet gun, the damn things don't run away. I can clobber them from 5-10 yards.