• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • lovemachine

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Dec 14, 2009
    Indiana
    So this year I want to have my first garden. I've never done it before, and I think it would be a lot of fun to start. But, obviously, I have no idea where to begin!

When do you start? Where's a good place to plant your garden at? Where do you get all your seeds and plants at?

I don't know how difficult it would be to grow what I eat now. But certainly it would be cheaper to grow than to buy it at the store. I eat on a regular basis:
    broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, asparagus, cucumbers, red and green bell peppers, spinach, blueberries, strawberries, potatoes, green beans

Thats what I eat just about everyday on a regular basis. Now, I don't think I'd want to start off with that many. I'd like to have a basic size and amount for my first try.

So, what do you guys suggest? When do I start in? Where is a good place to put the garden at? Where do you get all the plants and seeds at?

redneckmedic

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 20, 2009
    Greenfield
    You need southern sun light, a slight down hill if possible, and you should have started in the fall for the best soil, but no worries. PM me for more info, I have a 500 sq ft garden.

dom1104

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Mar 23, 2010
    The first step in productive gardening is soil prep. I would start there.

Gardening is NOT easy. But when it works out it is a bonanza of food.

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    We've had a garden of sorts for several years. Always enjoy the fresh veggies!

Where to place it?