• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • shotbyspike

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 2, 2008
    Sellersburg
    I am having a heck of a time finding a tire store that doesn't have someone come by and pick up their scrap wheel weights. I guess there is quite a market for scrap in this bad economy.

GSPBirdDog

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    55   0   0
    Mar 21, 2010
    Henryville
    I have ran into the same problem.....but what i have found is that its not scrappers or reloaders coming to get the wheel weights....Its those damn fishermen using them for lead fishing weights and lures!!:D:noway::draw:

Jarel

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 24, 2011
    I have been casting for over 30 years. WW are getting harder to get all the time. Many tire shops in my area won't sell them at all. They claim that they recycle them through a single person/business and won't sell them to the public. Again they claim that lead is toxic and don't want the liability. BS in my book but they own the WW. Next is the problem that lead WW are becoming a thing of the past. California won't allow there use and all the car makers use only zinc or steel now. My guess is in 5 years it will be hard to get a bucket of WW that have very many made out of lead in them. I am cutting back some on my shooting just so I don't run out in another decade. I had over a ton about 10 years ago and shot it all up. I have now got over 1 1/2 tons of clean WW and would like to see it out last me.

noylj

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 8, 2011
    I have almost given up. All I see are LOTS of "green" weights and few lead. Lots of steel and zinc, apparently.
    Write to the EPA and tell them that you feel a lot safer that those lead weights are being banned, if they aren't already.

Leadeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 19, 2009