Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

User Info Menu

EDC Fixed Blades

I know a lot of people EDC a fixed blade. What I don't know is why. I'm kinda interested in them since I'm getting ready to start messing with kydex and anything that needs a sheath is an excuse to tinker. So why do you carry a fixed blade daily? How do you carry it? Once I figure out whether or not I have a use, I'll find the knife to fill that niche.

For reference, I'm a custodian by trade and my knife rarely comes out of my pocket except for opening/breaking down boxes.
    Fools find no pleasure in understanding, but delight in airing their own opinions. Proverbs 18:2

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Ruffnek View Post
    I know a lot of people EDC a fixed blade. What I don't know is why.
    I am *not* a knife fighter and am know nothing other then the little bit I've been able to pick up from Craig Douglas, so my opinion doesn't carry a ton of weight. That said, for me the reason is that a fixed blade is instantly ready to put into action and is much tougher to break. If worn center line it's accessible with either hand. I carry a small blade center line, generally on a dog tag chain, as a last ditch "get off me" poking device. I know there are people out there who are much better than I am at entangled fighting. I know there are people who are much stronger. I know there are people who are both. I know I could be in a fight over my gun. For those reasons, having a hidden option that's relatively east to get to with either hand and doesn't need any manipulation before being able to be put into use seems like a good idea.

I plan to get over to TDI for some more in depth training eventually.
    L'otters are not afraid.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by BehindBlueI's View Post