• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Double T

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   1
    Aug 5, 2011
    Huntington
    Was just stopped in Huntington's Walmart by an off duty officer, whom I recognized was following myself, and my wife and two kids, throughout the store.

He asked me if I was a cop and I simply said "Nope" like I always do.

He then says "Well I am, and you need to cover that up, you are not allowed to carry it like that."

I stated "No, Indiana Code is silent on the issue of method of carry. Even on the license to carry it is silent."

Him: "Well our chief says that people can't open carry."

Me: "E.J. signed off on my license, and the paperwork they disburse when paying even states that we can carry however we like, but that concealed is recommended to avoid frightening people."

Him: "I'm not sure about that."

I really hated to do it, but he was quite frustrated; and had his phone in hand...so I pulled the pink paper to show him what we have to carry to avoid more hastle (we just wanted to make a homemade pizza with the boys)...anyways.

Me: "IC is silent on the issue of open or concealed. Even our license is just a license to carry, not a concealed carry of weapons or anything. Just says that I may carry a handgun."

Him: "I am going to find out about this." As he went off around the corner anticipating a call of which I can only imagine was to either the Shift supervisor, or to EJ Carrol our chief.

Regardless, I will be going down to speak with EJ on Monday morning as I've walked past at least 5 different ON duty LEO without issue, 2 of our ISP troopers, and our C.O. without issue. Why today?

I really hated showing the pink, so don't flame. My kids were hungry, and our oldest really wanted to make a pizza with mom and dad. :(

Anyone know of a reasonably priced pocket recorder that will work well (sub $50), my droid app DID NOT work.
    Him:

Kutnupe14

Troll Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0