• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • IMakeGum

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 3, 2011
    So I just bought a used Rem 1100 Magnum. I am completely new to shotguns so I'm practicing loading/unloading. I have loading down with no problems. But when I pull the breech bolt to eject the rounds, the round catches on the carrier latch.
    Could it be that I'm not pulling the bolt hard/quickly enough? OR could this be a gun problem?
    Would I most likely see this when shooting or could this possibly be something that can flush out in use....?

Thoughts??

pftraining_in

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 19, 2009
    IN: South of I-70
    The shell carrier could be bent or the shell catches could be either loose or bent. To see if the shell is slipping past the catches or catching on the carrier, turn the shotgun upside down and run the bolt. You should be able to see what is happening. I highly recommend doing this with dummy rounds or snap caps as the shotgun will be hard to hold.

You can adjust the carrier up with finger pressure or down with a flat head screwdriver. It only take very minor adjustments.

If the shell catches are loose or bent, you will need a shell catch staking tool to reinstall them properly. I would have someone with the proper tools complete this repair.

RichardR

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 21, 2010
    You're the small framed girl who was asking for recommendations for a home defense shotgun weren't you?

If so than my guess is you're probably not "man-handling" the bolt hard enough, really give it a good, solid, quick yank and see if the shells come out cleanly.

IMakeGum

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 3, 2011
    lol...ya, i'm that scrawny chick!
    it works when i only load 3 total....when I load 4+1 like the instructions say is when it won't eject them....