• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Ejmunden

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 24, 2011
    Hey guys, I need some help.

I have been considering getting a 1911 for a couple of months now but I've only ever shot one (being a proud Glock owner) but always like to diversify my gun portfolio. The fact of getting one is not the dilemma, the problem is deciding which one, as there are many options. To add to the confusion I have been offer 3 different 1911's from a gentleman who needs to liquidate his collection due to Uncle Sam wanting paid. The options are as followed 1) Kimber Team Match II - NIB. (also comes with a factory Kimber .22 cal conversion kit) 2) Colt Delta Elite almost NIB. 3) Para-Ordnance .45 unknown model (haven't seen the actual gun yet). Assuming that money was not the issue because they are all very reasonably priced, which one would you go with and why.

Thanks for all the input.

minuteman32

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 23, 2008
    Central IN
    Depending on price, the Kimber sounds good. If the Delta is 10MM, that would be a cool one to have, but I think it would be more of a collector than a shooter (IMO). Don't know about the Para. Some folks love them, some folks hate them. I don't have experience with them.

Ejmunden

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 24, 2011
    Yes, the Delta is a 10mm. That is another factor, I would like to be able to use my choice as a carry weapon.

churchmouse

I still care....Really
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    187   0   0
    Dec 7, 2011
    Speedway area
    Start with a Para Ordinance P-12 or a P-14 if you have a hand able to deal with the double stack grip. I have both and love them. Also consider Springfield. They have several options in varied price ranges and all are great shooters.

kawtech87

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Nov 17, 2011
    Martinsville