• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • spencer rifle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    67   0   0
    Apr 15, 2011
    Scrounging brass
    This car stripped out the camshaft sprocket in 1994. I had never rebuilt an engine at that time, and was thinking of junking it, since it was burning a quart of oil a week before that. Our family decided to try something else and keep it out of the waste stream.

I now drive it to work every day, and do lots of short trips around town - store, school, post office, etc. It took more money that anticipated, but I am not an electrical engineer, and had a lot to learn. I started this project before there was an internet, so I had a lot of reading and phone calls to do. Now that it is done, it gives almost no trouble and requires almost no maintenance. If we stop at a gas station, it is just to fill the tires.

Details here:
    DIY Electric Car Garage - show

Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Jan 18, 2010
    Franklin
    I have wanted to do this for a while. I lack the funds to do so... I was supposed to get motor and controller for free from work, I am a forklift technician and we scrapped an old lift and stripped it down I was told I would get them but I don't know what happened...

Hotdoger

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 9, 2008
    Boone County, In.
    This car stripped out the camshaft sprocket in 1994. I had never rebuilt an engine at that time, and was thinking of junking it, since it was burning a quart of oil a week before that. Our family decided to try something else and keep it out of the waste stream.