• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sdtech58

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Apr 25, 2014
    Z'ville
    I'm relatively new to shooting sports (shot about 5-6 USPSA matches last year). I'd like to try 3-gun, but I'm not sure about what division I'd be shooting in. I have a Glock 23, Colt AR-15 Magpul w/ Weaver Kaspa 1.5-6x scope and an old Savage Model 30 pump shotgun with 28" barrel (I'm the 3rd generation to own this pheasant-slaying shoulder breaker...). I'm not opposed to purchasing a new shotgun to make this happen, as the Savage is a hog to handle and I don't know if I want to tear it up doing competitions because of the sentimental value to me. What division would I shoot in and what would be a good entry-level shotgun to be looking at (pump or semi-auto) on the cheap? Thanks for the help!!

FishnHunt

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Oct 18, 2013
    Churubusco
    You should be in Tactical Optics with that set-up. As for the shotgun, I would say just bring what you got and shoot a match or two. You'll be at a disadvantage because of capacity (unless you can find an extension to fit that shotgun), but get at least a little experience before you start buying new guns.

If you're looking at cheap shotguns, I would look an 870 or Benelli SuperNova for pumps and the Stoeger m3000 for a semi-auto. All three have considerable aftermarket support and will not hold you back for some time. Oh, and you will likely beat up your long guns (at least I have) - throwing/dropping guns in barrels doesn't do much for the finish!

mertbl

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 6, 2010
    Fort Wayne
    Adam nailed it. An 870 and a Nordic extension is probably the cheapest way to get a shotgun that'll keep you competitive. Just make sure your shotgun is threaded for chokes.

scheesman

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 22, 2009
    Indy