• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • d30carls

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jul 20, 2012
    Cicero, IN
    I am new to reloading been reloading .223 and 40s&w for a couple months now. I have a marlin 336 30-30 i am considering reloading for but i was curious, i know the bullet diameter is .308 and they generally use flat nose bullets but can a guy use standard 308 bullets as long as I still crimp so there is no set back I know i will probably lose a round I can fit in the tube since it is a tube fed but that is the least of my worries

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    If the diameter is appropriate - and you don't mind only having 1 bullet in the tube (+ the chambered round) then have at it.

The polymer-tipped bullets should work, too. LeveRevolution stuff. Optimized for tube-fed mags. No idea if you can buy those bullets as components or not, though.

-J-

d30carls

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jul 20, 2012
    Cicero, IN
    you dont think i could put more that one in the tube i believe it holds 5 or 6 now or is there another issue im not thinking of

snorko

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    364   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    Evansville, IN
    you dont think i could put more that one in the tube i believe it holds 5 or 6 now or is there another issue im not thinking of

Tube fed rifles should never be loaded with pointed bullets such as FMJ or even a .308 HP rounds. The danger is that in recoil the pointed bullet can detonate the primer of the round in front of it in the tube with potentially explosive results.

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    NEVER load pointed bullets in a tube fed rifle. Now that we are in agreement, a tip for the 30/30 that will help.