• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 45calibre

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Jul 28, 2008
    NWI
    which loads of 40S&W have the least recoil? im just getting into 40 and i plan on my carry ammo being the one with the least recoil in either HST or Gold Dots.

from these makers i have only seen that they make 155,165,and 180 grains bullets. which of these would have the least recoil? from my experience with 9mm 147 grains shoots a lot softer than 115 grain or 124 grain.

aclark

Master
    Rating - 100%
    21   0   0
    Apr 22, 2009
    The 219
    The American Eagle 180 is a pretty nice shooting round. I have both the 165 and 180 and the 180 feels, not as sharp...

A few other people have shot the 180 outta my gun and really like it over previous .40s they have shot.

Ragenarok007

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 16, 2011
    Mooresville
    I shoot 165 grain Golden Sabres. They produce less muzzle flash than the Gold Dots so its easier for me to shoot at night without losing as much night vision. If this is not an issue for you then the performance is otherwise quite similar but less expensive than Golden Sabres.

My 60 year old mother is 4'9" and prefers my G22 to her G17, so I imagine you will be able to handle the 165 grain.

IndyGunner

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 27, 2010
    Hornady critical defense 165 grain feeds well and opens in everything normal hollows dont expand in.

Ive carried speer 180 grain for awhile though. It is tied for first with the above. I choose which one to buy based on availability and price.

Youll find that MOST modern HP ammunition is within a very small standard deviation from each other in terms of price/performance. However, there are some brands out there that IMHO suck.

btw: hst is a good choice and pretty too!

IMG_1766.jpg

Last edited:

the1kidd03

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 19, 2011
    somewhere