• ...and so much more!
  • ISO400

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 3, 2024
    South Bend
    I'm new to the 8mm Mauser world, and the online reviews talking about how complicated it can be definitely scared me a little. I am thinking about getting a Kar 98k or another variation with decent accuracy that can get me to 300 yards with iron sights. Any recommendations? I originally wanted a German Mauser wartime version, but the prices on GunBroker vary a lot, and I am simply not knowledgeable enough to tell which one is real and which is fake. any opinion will help!

Squid556

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Feb 26, 2022
    Wabash Co.
    I haven’t shot mine at 300 but at 100 it’s fairly easy so long as you use an appropriate sized target. 4” groups is about what I can muster.

IMG_3118.jpeg

And yes the sights tend to blur together for me. Dot of bright nail polish might help.

The rifle and cartridge itself are capable of going quite far

Last edited:

DoggyDaddy

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    73   0   1
    Aug 18, 2011
    Southside Indy
    The issue, you will find, is shooting accurately at that range, with those sights (unless you'll be shooting at refrigerators).

The invert V aka barleycorn is, um. "Not awesome".
    It's always puzzled me why nearly all military rifles from the past had such crappy sights. Awesome rifles, certainly capable of good accuracy, but dang the sights sucked.

Kirk Freeman

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Mar 9, 2008
    Lafayette, Indiana
    Three hun-dirt yards? With those miserable sights? Optimistic to say the least.

1. Know what makes a solid rifle. 2. learn how to inspect. 3. Put in time and money. As Uncle Sonny said, rifles are like puppies, have to put in time and money.