• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ccrise

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 16, 2011
    Mishawaka, IN
    I could use a little help. I have been looking at a Kimber 1911 and have some questions. I’m new to firearms so please be easy on me. They seem to use the term “Match Grade” and “Custom” on several of their pistols. What does this really mean? The price ranges are all over the place and I don’t want to go by just price and be sorry I didn’t get the next model up. From what I have been told they are a quality pistol and I couldn’t go wrong with any of them. So what do you all have and what would you change if you were to purchase it again. Thanks.

G_Stines

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 2, 2010
    Central Indiana
    Match Grade is their top quality. It is often used by people who competitively shoot. Custom, is cheaper, and although it's not Match Grade, it is a Kimber and will still be a pretty awesome gone out of the box. What model of Kimber 1911 are you looking at? The Custom II vs The Gold Match II?

ccrise

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 16, 2011
    Mishawaka, IN
    I'm not sure yet. I like the looks of a wood grain handle and two tone. Laser sight doesn't impress me. I'm expecting to pay between $1000 and $1400. I figure that should get something nice. I am open to all suggestions. Its hard to find a shop that has a large stock of Kimbers so any help will be appreciated.

G_Stines

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 2, 2010
    Central Indiana
    I have a Eclipse Pro II that I love. I went to the Kimber site, and put in Mishawaka, and it looks like these three are your three nearest dealers:

Blythe's Sport Shop 2810 North Calmuet, Valparaiso Phone: (219) 476-0026

LaPorte Sporting Goods 816 Lincoln Way, La Porte Phone: (219) 362-3447

Midwest Gun Exchange 3415 Grape Rd, Mishawaka Phone: (574) 257-0020