• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kcwolf200

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2011
    Lafayette
    I have been reloading for a couple of months now. I recently bought a Savage 116 bolt action and am wanting to reload accurate rounds for target shooting.

After extensive research online and in manuals, I have 3 test loads with different powders that I am going to try. I am trying Varget, IMR 4895, and IMR 4350 using starting loads out of the Lee and Lyman manuals. I am using once fired Remington brass, CCI #200 LR primers and Sierra 168gr Matchking bullets.

Just curious what any of you guys have found that works for you. Also, when testing out loads, how do you all do it? I'm planning on firing 5 of each load at 100 yards from a bench using a sandbag.

Any comments or suggestions are appreciated since I'm kinda new to this. Thanks.

Brownie

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Feb 7, 2011
    Fayette county
    Sounds like you have the start to finding an accurate load. As far as testing loads goes you can do it the way your thinking and have good results. However with the price of components you should look up the ladder method of testing loads. If you google it you should find several links.

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Apr 17, 2008
    Huntertown, IN
    Every load has a "sweet spot". It is an area where a variance of several tenths of grains of powder still lands the bullet within a group size that is acceptable to you.

Most manuals have a "most accurate" load for each of the powders you plan to use. BTW, all three powders are excellent choices for the cartridge.

I would start with the recommended "most accurate" load. Why reinvent the wheel?