• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • lovemachine

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Dec 14, 2009
    Indiana
    I have an old house, and am getting ready to remodel the bathroom. It has an old cast iron tub, which I plan to keep. It doesn’t have a shower, so I plan on adding one.

My plan is to remove the old wall tile, and install new tile. Problem is, the bathroom walls is plaster. So what am I going to be getting myself into?

Would I be able to just remove the old tile, and install new tile? Or am I going to have to cut out that section of plaster wall? Would I be able to keep the upper half plaster wall?

Or should I plan on gutting it out and installing drywall everywhere?

dieselrealtor

Master
    Rating - 100%
    177   0   0
    Nov 5, 2010
    Morgan County
    I am NOT an expert, but have done some remodel work on a couple of old houses of mine.
    Really depends on how the tile was installed & how "stuck" it is. Bottom line what kind of condition the plaster is in when the tile is removed.

If the rest of the plaster is in good shape in the area & you are cautious upon removal good chance you can just do surface prep & put new tile back up.

Time wise, you will likely be hours ahead by cutting it out & putting durock or other backer board in its place.

DoggyDaddy

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    73   0   1
    Aug 18, 2011
    Southside Indy
    I have an old house, and am getting ready to remodel the bathroom. It has an old cast iron tub, which I plan to keep. It doesn’t have a shower, so I plan on adding one.

My plan is to remove the old wall tile, and install new tile. Problem is, the bathroom walls is plaster. So what am I going to be getting myself into?

Would I be able to just remove the old tile, and install new tile? Or am I going to have to cut out that section of plaster wall? Would I be able to keep the upper half plaster wall?