• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jotto

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 26, 2011
    NW Indiana
    I'm well versed about AR's in most standard configurations. One area that I have little experience with is buffers. I've seen people that swear by a heavier or lighter buffer and also talk of using a hydraulic buffers. Could someone shed some light on any benefits to swapping out a stock buffer?

I'm referring to buffers used in 5.56/.223 AR's.

Thank you for your assistance and information.

BGDave

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    207   0   0
    Sep 15, 2011
    Beech Grove
    If you are running a standard length barrel (16 to 20 inch) there is probably no real reason to change buffer weights. Now full auto or 9mm or shorter than 16 inchers may need some changes. Then again it your choice to accessorize. The AR 15 platform has often been called the Barbie for dudes.

abnk

Master
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Mar 25, 2008
    Could someone shed some light on any benefits to swapping out a stock buffer?

Define stock buffer.

There are photos out there showing the difference between carbine, H, H1, H2, H3, rifle buffers, etc.

The gist is that a heavier buffer will slow the cyclic rate;thus running smoother and reducing wear and tear. A rate too slow will cause short stroking.

For a 16" carbine or mid-length, I like an M16 BCG with an H buffer. However, the same upper will also run with an unshrouded BCG and a carbine buffer.

cwillour

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    90   0   0
    Dec 10, 2011
    Northern Indiana
    For a 16" carbine or mid-length, I like an M16 BCG with an H buffer. However, the same upper will also run with an unshrouded BCG and a carbine buffer.