• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • THard6

Master
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   1
    Apr 1, 2010
    Greenwood
    Please excuse my ignorance, as I haven't really played much with AR's.
    But I picked one up off of a fellow INGO'er a year or so ago, and I can't seem to find out who it was or anything!
    But I have a Bushmaster XM15-E2S, but it has a YHM free floating quad rail on it. I have searched their website trying to find more rails to put on it, not having much luck at this time, but still working on this.
    however, I can't seem to figure out how to get the free floating quad rail off of the darn gun! I know i'm special, but I figured an average joe could do this.:dunno:
    can anyone show me the light?
    here's a picture of my AR.... thank you.
    bushy_zpsbc8a997b.jpg

yhm_zps0d1e97b7.jpg

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in
    most YHM rails have 2 set screws threw the handguard at the reciever end that you take out, then unscrew the handguard section, I dont see the set screws in yours so it appears it just screws off.

I THINK if you put the same rail back on the single exsisting rail goes on top, but im not familiar with your exact rail.

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    It does screw off. As long as your gas tube has been removed, and it looks like it has been, then it should just unscrew.

Could have some type of thread-seal on it. May just be over tightened, but it should just screw off.

cwillour

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    90   0   0
    Dec 10, 2011
    Northern Indiana
    If it works the way it looks, you need to loosen the jam nut before you can unscrew the handguard.

The jam nut is the grey nut closer to the receiver and friction locks the main tube in place.