• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Ruffnek

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    There is somewhere, I believe Ohio but don't quote me, that any knife meant to be used as a weapon (defensive or offensive) is a no go.

In Indiana, I can't see it being a problem. Just like when a good shoot is a good shoot, I'd say a good stab is a good stab. I would guess (INGO legal experts correct me if I'm wrong) that the fact that you had to use a knife would strengthen your case; if the bad guy was that close, there was real danger.

tradertator

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    128   0   0
    Jul 1, 2008
    Greene County
    In any self defense situation, you've got to ask yourself is the threat imminent and unavoidable? Was your response reasonable and justifiable? Once the threat was eliminated, did you stop? I'm no lawyer, but if you can honestly say yes to all of those questions, possibly even having to prove it to a jury of your peers, then you should be fine. The bottom line is its your life, and your safety on the line. As the old saying goes, it's better to be judged by twelve than carried by six.

Something else to consider is to look into some form of modern martial arts, and learn how to effectively fight. If your interested in martial blade work, there are places that teach FMA all over the place. And quite likely, your liberal leaning family will be OK with it. A guy looks pretty innocent twirling around and swinging rattan sticks into a tire in the backyard, when in reality your actually honing in on a pretty deadly skill set that might save your bacon in a messy situation.

Bill B

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Sep 2, 2009
    RA 0 DEC 0