• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • HD_darla

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 7, 2009
    Well I'm no expert but I've always had goodluck going an hour or two before dark. What are you using to call? and do you have an idea of where they'll be coming from?

I sit in a tree stand and generally know where their going to come from a certain side of the tree line against the feild. I use a general caller from Basspro with different tapes.

Twentyfootdaredevil

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Aug 4, 2011
    Chandler, In
    For a new coyote hunter I would say night time would give you the best chance. The darkness covers up alot of rookie mistakes.

I prefer to hunt 2 or three hours before dark then if I'm excited I might come backed from nine or ten until midnight.

snapping turtle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 5, 2009
    Madison county
    The very best for me has been a full moon with clear skys and snow cover. So that narrows it down to about one night a year with those conditions. I rem 870 with 3 inch #4 buck and hand calls.

Second best is right when the combines come in to harvest crops. I have seen coyotes follow the harvestors from field to field picking off anything that gets hurt.

Other than that you can do it any time of day. In full sun they will lay up on the south side of a hill out of the winds. Use a rifle that you can hit them at about 200 if you jump one they normally stop and look back at least once.

yotewacker

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Feb 25, 2009