• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • tgallmey

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 11, 2011
    New Haven
    This is my H&R model 176 single shot 10 Gauge this is my 2nd one I had one a couple years ago and sadly let it go so I found another one and bought it. I think the Barrel is to long though (my old one was 18.5 :rockwoot:) because I dont Bird hunt. It defiantly kicks your shoulder.

a2py0n.jpg

03A3

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2009
    Shaker Prairie
    I'd say that's a bruiser, more ways than one. But then how much does an average person shoot a 10 gauge when goose hunting ect?
    Nice gun.

bigmedicine

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 29, 2008
    Greenwood
    I actually think that the 10 gets a bad rap as far as recoil goes. I have no H&R experience in the 10, so I can't really talk about it. What I do know quite well is that I had (note key word "had") a BPS in 10 gauge as well as 3.5 12 gauge. I took the 12 goose hunting and had my fill of recoil. The next day I took the heavier 10 and immediately sold the 3.5 12. I'm sure that it is a great gun, but as far as my shoulder is concerned, give me the 10 gauge any day of the week (and twice on any saturday of goose season).

Last edited:

03A3

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2009
    Shaker Prairie
    I have an older (early 90's) BPS in 10 ga. I agree, it will definately get your attention when you touch one off but the recoil is far from unbearable.
    It's a coyote killing machine. Copper plated lead BB's are bad medicine.

6birds

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 15, 2008
    Fishers
    Pump, auto-loaders and SxS's, everyone should have a 10. I'm saving up for an old 8 Bore, that'll get those pesky tree rats!

6birds

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 15, 2008
    Fishers
    Not many would get that reference!