• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • howlinghudson

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 8, 2012
    Bedford
    Went to wal-marx today and bought a Winchester bowie for about 20bucks. took it out in the woods thinking it would be everything i needed. at best i was able to shave some kindling and chop as well as notch wood. is there any other practical use for this bowie? ie skinning game? btw I'm new to the outdoor lifestyle and i hail from the city to boot

billyboyr6

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Jan 28, 2010
    greenfield
    Would you trust your life on that knife if the situation ever presented itself? Honestly.

If you answer yes right way, then end of thread.

If you hesitate with answering, either way, end of thread.

Only you will know the answer to your question. So what do you think?

jdfast

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 11, 2012
    SW Indy
    With one hand tied behind your back.

Seriously though. I'm not a fan of bowies...but its what fits you is important. You can make a sharp rock do everything you described. Its your skill level that makes it possible. More importantly is what kind of steel is it? That will tell me how long it will hold and edge, how easy it is to sharpen and what kind of care it needs to stay that way. If your new to this kinda thing..no big deal. Your smart for starting cheap and working up.

Dtrap

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jan 24, 2011
    Indianapolis
    Paper weights. They make good paper weights.

What he said.
    They really aren't gonna hold up to the type of abuse associated with wood processing and all around survival needs. You gotta start somewhere though and for $20 if it breaks your not really out much. At least you can get a feel for what great and useful tools knives are.

giovani

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 8, 2012