• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DadSmith

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 21, 2018
    Ripley County
    I'm going to build a new 16" upper in 300blkout.
    I talked to my buddy he said there are a lot of ways to build it, and it depends on what bullet weight I was wanting to shoot with it.

So 300blkout guru's I'm going to rely upon your wisdom for my new build.

My main bullet weight will be 125gr, and maybe 150gr. I'm thinking 1/8 twist would be good for that, but want to get proper opinions before investing in a barrel.

My buddy said his 300blkout runs better with pistol length gas system. He runs 220gr+ in his though. What length gas system would I need for lighter bullets?

I also plan on building it with an adjustable gas block as well. Any recommendations on one?

Anything else you can think of let me know.

R3p1lc3

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 23, 2024
    English
    I'm no expert but I do have experience with 300blk. 16" is overkill IHMO, Most loads you'll be done burning powder about 10"-12". Of course that can vary if your running your own loads and play with powder. Most of the stuff you'll buy off the shelf will be burnt withing that length.
    Questing is.. what do you plan to use it for mainly?
    If you do go with a longer barrel. go with carbine length gas system, not a pistol length.. you'll run into timing issues in my experience, changing round weight/load can play into that as well. An adjustable gas block will be your friend with 300blk as you do play with different projectiles and loads, I'd consider it a must.

edit: On gas blocks there are a plethora to choose from.. Just look for feedback when choosing you should be fine. the 40-60$ range in my experience work just fine.

Last edited:
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 9, 2022
    Bloomington