• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Lagrange

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Oct 8, 2012
    Lagrange, IN.
    Alrighty then INGO members, its time to get this thing going.
    After fighting off the flu along with my family members I was able to get some work started on the first ever handmade INGO knife.

To recap, the knife we are going to build is as follows;

Hunter
    Stainless blade
    Wood handle (it was actually a draw, but I have a plan)
    8 1/2" overall length (more or less)
    with bolsters
    & a leather sheath

So what I am going to do is try and give you as much detail as I can so that if you decide to do this yourself you can give it a shot.
    I am by no means a professional or know it all, but I have made a few knives over the past few years. I welcome any and all input. If you have ideas or suggestions feel free to post them along the way.

Lets start with the design of the knife.
    I have (like I said) made a few knives over the past couple of years and I have developed my own method for making knives. In this post I may deviate from my normal routine so that I can share with you how you can do it at home.
    Normally I develope a pattern and transfer that to a piece of mild steel to use in future knives. In this case we are going to transfer the design directly to the blade steel and go from there.

I designed a hunting style knife by drawing it out on a piece of printer paper.
    The design ended up being nearly 9" in overal length

IMG_1495-1.jpg

The next step is to cut out the design

IMG_1499-1.jpg

The steel we will be using is CM 154. This is a very good stainless that I use quite a bit. Normally I use CPM 154, but this is what I had at the time.

2.jpg

Laying the knife pattern next to the steel you will notice that the knife is longer than the steel. That's because we are going to make a partial hidden tang model. Trust me, you'll like it.

IMG_1497.jpg