• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jdewyse

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 4, 2010
    Hi, I am a college student and I have been given the assignment to give a 15min long speech about something the "the world has wrong". The first thing that came to mind was the bad reputation that gun ownership and/or gun carry seems to get with the general public.
    So my question to you fellow INGO members and gun enthusiasts is, If you had 15mins of unencumbered time to speak to a group of college students and one very Liberal professor what would you say?
    I do wish to tell you I am not turning this into a debate on gun control laws or whether we need constitutional carry. I am merely trying to clear up some of the misconceptions about gun carry and firearms.
    Your input is greatly appreciated because who better to talk about firearm misconceptions then gun owners.
    Thank you:ingo:

CtWest

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 14, 2011
    Here
    I know I would include the states with the strictest gun laws, have the highest crime rate...for sure.

SEIndSAM

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    48   0   0
    May 14, 2011
    Ripley County
    And find the stats that show that in every state that has enacted a real "Concealed Carry" law, crime rates went down. Check out the Florida stats, I lived there when they first enacted CCW.

Classic

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   1   0
    Aug 28, 2011
    Madison County
    I know I would include the states with the strictest gun laws, have the highest crime rate...for sure.

...and they tend to be the most liberal. Maybe a lack of belief in personal responsibility.

I would hammer on the right of self defense point myself. Even most liberals have to eventually concede that you have a right to defend yourself.