• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jphillip

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 6, 2012
    This is probably a stupid question, but I am new to range etiquette, as I usually just shoot on a friends property. I have my LTCH, but do I have to have my gun locked in its case when carrying into the range, or can I carry it as i always do(at my hip with loaded clip)?

jgreiner

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jul 13, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    This is probably a stupid question, but I am new to range etiquette, as I usually just shoot on a friends property. I have my LTCH, but do I have to have my gun locked in its case when carrying into the range, or can I carry it as i always do(at my hip with loaded clip)?

Varies from range to range, the range I use REQUIRES the gun to either be in the case, or in a HOLSTER, and they will provide you WITH a holster if you don't have one (yes, Applied Ballistics).

Normally, I go in with my gun holstered. Any other guns I may be shooting that day, are in cases.

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN
    Yeap, depends on the range. Some ranges not allow loaded firearms (including your carry) behind the line unless the range is called hot, and no drawing from holsters. Others DO allow you to shoot your carry. I'd check the range rules or call ahead.

Jphillip

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 6, 2012
    Thanks, bobbittle! That is all i needed to know.

You all gave very useful information. Also, I am new to the Indianapolis area and I am trying to find the cheapest ammo without having to drive very far. Gander Mountain is the cheapest I can find. Is there anything else around?

mrortega

Master
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Jul 9, 2008
    Just west of Evansville