• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • reno

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 2, 2009
    Indiana
    I have been casting bullets for a few years, not as many as my father did and not as many as several others have. Generally I have few problems.

In the past few years I purchased two hollow point molds from Lyman. One was for my 44 calibers and one for the 45 auto's and revolovers.

These two molds really gave me fits to cast a decent bullet. I had read on a message board or two how hollow point molds can be difficult. I would get one occasionally but more than usual they went back into the pot.
    I finally wrote to Lyman and simply asked them how best to correct this. I explained my process and technique,and asked for their help.

I received a reply the next work day. It was very helpful. The instructions were to the point, easy to understand and they simply said what works best for them but to try doing this and try doing this.

I went home from work, turned the furnace on, then started casting. At first I noticed a difference trying one of their suggestions. Then I found what seems to the technique for me using these hollow point molds. I now cast bullets pratically every time with them.

I wrote back and thanked them and explained their suggestions were almost perfect for me.

Just wanted to say that the guys at Lyman know what they are talking about, and obviously they also cast bullets.

It is great in this day to have experienced and helpful people.

Thumbs up to the folks at Lyman technical services or customer service departments.

Thanks again,

Leadeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jan 19, 2009
    Most of good casting is temperature and alloy. Temperature you can control, alloy is getting harder to scrounge these days.:)

reno

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 2, 2009
    Indiana
    any chance posting their suggestions to possibly help some of us beginners out?