• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sht4brnz

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 93.3%
    14   1   0
    Aug 29, 2012
    N.IndNpls
    Does anybody have any experience shooting with this group?
    It appears they shoot F-class, F/TR, and across the range at Camp Atterbury.
    Looks like they have 1000yd and beyond going on this weekend 7/27-7/28.
    I'm new to experience anything at that distance and wondered if anyone could offer some insight on what to bring and be prepared for.

CIHPRS.org

PMY

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 21, 2008
    Mishawaka
    I often shoot both across-the-course & long range there. Since it is on the military base you do need to get your information to them by the Tuesday before the match (for the list of authorized visitors that they keep at the main gate), so you might be out-of-luck for this weekend. Might still be worth a try to shoot Jeff an email, just in case, but be prepared to hear "sorry."

There are still a couple of long range matches left this year, so you can get yourself set up now for those.

Everyone is extremely friendly, and eager to help you get on target. The long range matches are pretty informal, so if you need a little coaching the first couple times, it shouldn't be a big deal (especially during your sighters). If you can chronograph your ammo & run it through a calculator like JBM - Calculations so you have an educated guess about your come-up to 1000 yards, you'll have a lot less frustrating start. Otherwise, make a guess on velocity and run it through JBM. The long range target is pretty big, if you've got a good no-wind-zero and a decent guess on the wind speed to start they'll get you there.