• ...and so much more!
  • cmcate

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 11, 2010
    Greenfield
    Hi all,

I'm new to the forums, but have had a pretty decent amount of exposure to guns in the past few years. I currently own a Glock 17, Walther P22, Kimber Eclipse Target II, S&W M&P 15, and a Mossberg 500A. I typically carry my P22 because of its size and concealability. I think I'd like to get a stronger handgun to carry though.

I am very attracted to the XD; I love the look, and especially like the idea of the grip safety (can't have any Plaxico accidents happening when I conceal carry). I am interested in your opinion on the different models of the XD though. I'm leaning toward the .357 or the .40 right now. I'd like to stay away from the .45 since I'm a broke college student, and that ammo is pretty expensive (not to mention I already have a .45 in my Kimber). I suppose I'd be open to 9mm, but I did kind of want to diversify my collection.

I had a couple of questions too:

1) I read that the .357 is discontinued. Is there any truth to this? If so, is the discontinuation perpetual, or do they have plans on bringing it back?

2) I understand if I buy a .40 I can also change the barrel out to .357. Can I go from a .357 to a .40, or for that matter, go from a 9mm to .357 by changing the barrel? I wasn't sure if the sizes of the handgun were any different.

Thank you guys for your time!

JohnP82

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Apr 2, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    i would go with the .40 because the ammo is easier to find and cheaper. the .357 sig round is nice and i dont see it going anywhere, but it is pretty expensive and can be hard to find. good luck in your decision.

U.S. Patriot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 87.5%
    7   1   0
    Jan 30, 2009
    Columbus