• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • straid

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Mar 29, 2012
    I want to learn how to fit parts/build gun from bottom up. Does anyone know where in the Ft. Wayne area one can acquire the necessary skills for this? This would be for 1911 only (for now).

sloughfoot

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Apr 17, 2008
    Huntertown, IN
    Nowhere in the Fort that I know of. Unless Jerry will let you work on one in his shop under his supervision. He is a lot closer to Churubusco though. And I certainly don't speak for him.

I am self taught with a Kuhnhausen book and trial and error. Not too much error, thank goodness. It really isn't difficult.

Get the book.

UNCLE HARLEY

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Apr 21, 2012
    Kendallville
    You need to talk to someone who is a machinist. Not someone who loads parts into a CNC, but someone who understands how to make mating parts fits precisely with a flat file or reamer sometimes. It typically takes years & making lots of scrap before you get to the level that I think you're talking about.

Hookeye

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 19, 2011
    armpit of the midwest
    Not all machinists are created equal, some top notch folks are too specialized (from job or environment).

Know some bad arse tool and die guys, who I wouldn't let touch my guns.

They (from my limited exp) tend to jump to a conclusion and want to remove metal right off the bat, without fully experimenting and identifying the problem. Scary.

UNCLE HARLEY

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Apr 21, 2012
    Kendallville
    But they a lot better equipped to do this type work than someone who loads & unloads parts from a CNC.
    Not all machinists are created equal, some top notch folks are too specialized (from job or environment).