• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • chibabs

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 15, 2023
    Indianapolis
    Hello! I am new to the scene and the forums. I am interested in getting better handling guns and do competition level in the future.

I want to do the speed and accuracy or practical shooting. I really don’t know what you call that but the competition that is usually on youtube.

I took the intro and basic handgun class and don’t know what to do from here.

What can you recommend for me? Please bear with my english.

natdscott

User Unknown
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 20, 2015
    Hello! I am new to the scene and the forums. I am interested in getting better handling guns and do competition level in the future.

I want to do the speed and accuracy or practical shooting. I really don’t know what you call that but the competition that is usually on youtube.

Rifle or pistol or shotgun?

Or all three?

natdscott

User Unknown
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 20, 2015
    Then I will withhold most advice except:

1) Don't be afraid to buy books and teaching instead of "better" pistols and ammo.

2) But don't be afraid to put down the internet and just go shoot.

3) There's probably nothing wrong with your sights, and everybody knows it, so find a different excuse. :D

4) Dry fire, go to the gym, do mechanics drills, put post-notes on the living room walls to drill transitions right/left/up/down, constantly work to improve. It takes 3 days of good practice per week to maintain, 4-5 to BEGIN to make progress, and 6+ to break "plateaus" (unless the plateau is from overtraining, which is a thing).

5) Don't work so hard that it loses its fun.

Are there hard days? Days when you don't feel like that 5 am practice? Days when you're tired after work, or don't shoot as well as you'd hoped in a match?