• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 5, 2011
    Ok... I bought a HK USP compact 9mm awhile ago. I haven't been able to shoot very accurate with it for some reason. I figured, of course, it was my fault not the guns fault. So I paid close attention to sight picture, grip, stance, etc. Still not much better. Unless I'm only a few yards away.

So I used my friends Beretta 92 and Taurus PT99 and didnt do much better. Now here is whats weird. I used a friends Taurus 1911 .45 and shot tight groupings and Ive never shot a .45 before. This doesnt make any sense to me. Does anyone else think thats weird? Im a noob pretty much with pistols but I dont know why I shot better with a .45 when I have never shot it before. Im really confused :dunno:

Rob377

Master
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Dec 30, 2008
    DT
    My guess: the 1911 had a better trigger than the USP or the other 2.

The single action 1911 is, for most people, an easy gun to shoot accurately because of it's usually very good trigger. The USP has a pretty cruddy trigger that takes plenty of practice to master, in my experience.

Easy drill to try: put a coin on the front sight and dry fire your EMPTY weapon. If the coin falls off, your trigger squeeze is bad and throwing off your shots. If it stay on, your squeeze is good. I'll bet dollars to donuts that if you try that with all of the above mentioned pistols, you'll have more success with the 1911, and it'll show up in your groups in live fire.

That's my SWAG at why you're seeing what you're seeing.

mikerccie

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Apr 29, 2011
    Indy - North Side