• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • LCSOSgt11

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 24, 2009
    LaPorte, IN
    I would also humbly suggest not only building 1911's, but also providing preventative maintenance/inspections at reasonable cost. I have a pet 1911 (in fact two of them) that have not been fully disassembled for years. Sure, I can take the slide apart, but I've had no experience whatsoever disassembling the lower frame. It may be simple and straightforward, but so is building a house when you know how to do it.

I take care of them, however, once in a while a knowledgeable 1911 gunsmith should detail them and inspect parts, replace springs, etc. that I'm not comfortable doing without potentially ruining something.

Also, refininshing services whether they be bluing, hardchroming, Cerakote, etc. should also be offered with a reasonable turnaround time.

Food for thought.

averycustom

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 4, 2012
    Fellows,

Thanks for all of your comments. Tentative launch date is January 2014. We're attending Brownell's Gunsmith Fair in Des Moines this week to do some networking and meet up with old friends. I have lots of work to do before I'm up and running but I think we will be able to offer outstanding service and products at a fair price. Stay tuned.

Best Regards,

Mark

melensdad

Grandmaster
    Rating - 94.7%
    18   1   0
    Apr 2, 2008
    Far West Suburban Lowellabama
    I'm doing some market research prior to opening a custom 1911 shop in north central Indiana. I will be performing the usual modifications as well as offering complete pistols to my own specifications. I'm trying to estimate local i.e statewide interest in such an operation for business planning purposes. Any input much appreciated.

Regards,

Mark
    What makes you especially and specifically qualified to work on 1911 pistols?