• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • r6vr6

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Jan 28, 2009
    Granger
    I am an engineer. Nearly everything in my possession has been paid for by my ability to solve problems. The key to solving problems is to identify the root cause of the issue. There are many ways to work your way back to the cause of an issue. After the root cause is identified then a corrective action plan can be implemented to address the cause.

A simple 5 why analysis:
    26 people are dead
    why
    they had trauma wounds
    why
    the man with a gun shot them
    why
    the man was mentally ill
    why
    the man did not receive proper treatment for his disease
    why
    he or people that should be responsible for him did not seek proper treatment for his disease.

A good way to check if the last effect you got to is reasonable is to go backwards and use therefor instead of why.

When I see all the media calls for gun control it just drives me crazy that they want to strip people of their rights with no impact on the root cause of the issue. The gun(s) is an implement that was used, It could have easily been replaced with a car, explosive device,gas bomb, knife, bat etc. Should we ban all those too? If I thought turning in my guns would resolve the issue they can come get them all. The fact is the gun is not the root cause of the issue and banning \ confiscating them will have no affect on the root cause of the issue. :twocents:

cwagner1

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 15, 2012
    A simple 5 why analysis:
    26 people are dead
    why
    they had trauma wounds
    why
    A man with a gun shot them
    why
    the man had access to firearms
    why
    His mother had firearms available
    why
    Because the government allowed her to legally purchase baby killing ar-15s

Im also an engineer, and that method of root cause analysis is very interpretive.

Try a fault tree.