• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • yogiibare

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 9, 2017
    Northside of Indy
    I have limited experience with differing brands and price points of red dots on a pistol. For action pistol competitions, not carry, what benefits can I expect from something like an SRO that costs approximately 2x what a Holosun or Vortex costs? For those that have been using dots for awhile what are the noticeable differences? Are the more expensive dots worth it in your opinion?

Hop

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 21, 2008
    Indy
    It kind of depends on how rough are you going to be on your gear. Action pistol won't tear up anything unless you drop the gun. Might as well start out with something a bit cheaper to see how you like it. Just keep in mind that not all dots have the same gun mounting plates.

I do 10k Run-n-Gun obstacle course races & it's about the toughest thing you can submit your gear to outside of fighting a war imo.

I've killed nearly every brand I've owned. :boxing: The more expensive name brand stuff has held up better.

desnifter

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 7, 2022
    USA
    Having shot in 2 literal hurricanes, having a closed emitter can be beneficial as well. Depending on rain that can affect the dot in the optic. I had issues with my RMR in those matches. My personal favorite is the aimpoint acro. Currently on a bunch of waiting lists for an ACRO P2

NHT3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    53   0   0
    After a horrible experience with Trijicon several years ago I've completely sworn off of them. I've been carrying an optic every day for several years and have had good luck with Holosun and Vortex. Currently what I use daily is a Holosun and I couldn't be more satisfied with it.

Tactically Fat

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Oct 8, 2014
    Indiana