• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Indy_Hunter68

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 24, 2010
    Greenfield
    View attachment 33315 Long story short, pulled the trigger on a big fat doe Saturday, instead of a hearty BOOM, all we got was CLICK!
    ( shooting a H&R Ultra Slugger) thought I must not have cocked the gun all the way(?) , so I re-cocked the gun. Now the doe has heard the loud click, and turned to go the way she came. When the shot was there, I squeezed the trigger again. CLICK!!!
    now I freak! Open the action, check the barrel to be sure it's clear, grab another shell. By now the doe is moving away, but I thought I had her. This shot went off correctly, but I was geeked out, and missed. ( I did shoot the gun a little later at camp, nailed a pumpkin at 80 yards. Gun is fine )
    So. Is this something you would write to Remington about? What should I expect? I have been shooting this ammo for at least 6 years, never had this issue.
    For the record, it is the Remington Accu-Tip slug, in 3".

Last edited:

42769vette

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Oct 6, 2008
    south of richmond in
    It wouldn't hurt to tell Remington. From experience I can tell you Remington will blame the gun. H&R will blame the ammo. You will get tired of fighting and give up. You might get a free box of slugs, but your not going to get much for your effort.

Sniper 79

Master
    Rating - 100%
    19   0   0
    Oct 7, 2012
    It happens sometimes. I think it was a dud primer also.

H&R are decent guns and I started out using one. Now wont use one for that very reason. Would have been better to rack the action after the first click and be back on target.

O well lessons we all learn. Time in the woods is too precious to have a gear failure. Say your prayers and the big man will send you a bigger deer to harvest.

Good luck and I hope you get one.

eatsnopaste

Expert
    Rating - 100%