• ...and so much more!
  • inchrisin

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 8, 2015
    Indianapolis
    Hey Y`all,
    I'm a novice to folding knives and I've carried one for about 3 years in my pocket. It was a Kershaw of some sort. It was a line lock and I'm fine with a $40 or $50 3" blade. I liked it the most of any knife I've owned. Why? It flipped open easily and locked without effort. One hand, one motion, quick, easy, reliable. In trying to replace it, I picked up a different Kershaw, an Ontario Rat II and an Ontario Shikra. My issue with the knives are that they are stiff. The Shikra and the Rat II don't budge until I just about use 2 hands on it. The other Kershaw seems lazy. Almost like it has too much oil in the internals.

So, I have a question: Is there a break-in period on knives like a baseball glove, or is there anything I can do to help smooth out the opening of my knives?

WhitleyStu

Keep'em Scary Sharp!!!
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Feb 11, 2009
    Whitley County/Allen County
    Well, it is time to tinker with the pivot. The pivot bolt is either an Allen or Torx head. Loosen it no more than an 1/8th of a turn and try the blade for movement. You'll find a happy setting soon. A drop or two of WD-40 will on either side of the blade close to the pivot will also be of help. Once the WD-40 does its job you can "fine tune" your knife's pivot again...

jerrob

Master
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Mar 1, 2013
    Cumberland Plateau
    The Ontario Rat 2 is my daily, beat the he'll outta it, edc knife.
    I lube it with Singer sewing machine oil and use it, it'll get better.
    If we're gonna use $40-50 knives for edc, and I do too, there'll have to be some lowered expectations on out of the box quality.
    Alternative 1, double or even triple your budget and get a higher end knife.........Benchmade, Spyderco, Zero Tolerance ect.

jbombelli

ITG Certified
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    May 17, 2008
    Brownsburg, IN