• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sandman

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 18, 2009
    in denial
    Encore 500 Magnum rifle. Anyone have much experience with one of these? I have the .44 barrel, and just looking to expand my collection but have heard good and bad. The bad being mainly recoil. Any info. is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

cce1302

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 26, 2008
    Back down south
    I have no experience with that particular rifle, however I do have some experience with the caliber. Recoil in the .500S&W X-frame revolver is stout. The numbers I have run show .500S&W potential comparable speed and energy to many 12 gauge shotgun slug loads. 400-440 grain JSPs or JHPs running 1800-2000 fps. From a 8 3/8" revolver barrel. I'd say enough energy to take any animals in Indiana.
    That being said, recoil from your Encore rifle should not be any worse than deer slugs from a 12 gauge.
    The Encore has a lot of potential in this caliber. The rifle is certainly strong enough for it. There is a site sponsor here that may be able to make you a barrel. At any rate, he can add to my small observations on this thread.

fireball168

Master
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Dec 16, 2008
    Clinton
    It isn't often you see one shooting much less than 2" groups at 100. I'm sure a lot of that is operator induced.

The ones I've seen shoot 1.5" or less have had hanger bars and professional trigger work, along with a bit of weight or a mercury reducer in the stock.

If it is something you just want to hunt/plink with, and would be satisfied with the kind of accuracy I mention above - the Katahdin 20" barrels usually go for $315 with tax.

Otherwise, step up to a custom for another $125 or so and get tightened throat dimensions and a higher quality barrel blank.

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette